How to Get Your Washington Boater Education Card
The summer season and boating weather are just around the corner. Don’t get caught out on the water this year without your boater education card. If you are between the ages of 12 and 50 you will need it to legally operate a motorboat of 15 horsepower or more in the State of Washington.
Good news is that the card will only cost you $10 and will save you a potential $75 fine for not having one. There are a few different ways to obtain your card. You can have the Washington State Parks mail you the test with training information, head online and take the test there, or you can can attend a free and very informative class taught by the Benton County Sheriff Office.
The class will be held at the Richland Yacht Club on Saturday, March 23 and those wishing to attend must pre-register for the class by March 15 by calling 735-6555 or visiting the Benton County Sheriff’s Office in Kennewick.
By taking a boating safety course and applying the lessons you learn, you help to ensure that our waterways are the safest they can be. In addition, completing a course may reduce your boat insurance by 10% to 15%. Be sure to ask your insurance agent.