Roadrunner Records

In 1984′s ‘This Is Spinal Tap,’ fictional guitarist Nigel Tufnel coined a lasting rock ‘n’ roll phrase when he revealed a special amplifier with volume dials that, in his words, “go to eleven.”

Well, in November, Megadeth is going all the way to ‘TH1RT3EN.’ And although you’ll still have to wait until then to hear it, you can have a look at the album cover now.

The ‘TH1RT3EN’ cover features longtime band mascot Vic Rattlehead, although this time around, he’s facing away from the listener and into the dark recesses of what appears to be some sort of tomb or labyrinth. Appropriately enough, he’s surrounded by 13 candles.

“This record is the culmination of my work over the 13 records I recorded,” said band frontman Dave Mustaine in a press release. “There are moments on ‘TH1RT3EN’ that capture my every emotion, and other moments where I am releasing feelings I never knew existed! My proudest moments of my musical career are captured on ‘TH1RT3EN.’”

The album marks the return of bassist Dave Ellefson after nearly a decade out of the fold, and he sounds impressed with the new material. “Let’s put it this way: It’s funny that 20 years ago, we came off ’Rust In Peace’ and we went in and made ’Countdown To Extinction’. So, to me, that’s kind of what this album feels like,” said Ellefson during a recent interview. “That’s why I liken it to probably a little more to ’Countdown To Extinction’, ’cause there’s a couple of songs that aren’t just full-on, in-your-face thrashing. However, most of it is. So you guys are gonna be excited. You’ll like it. You’ll dig it. You’ll have fun.”

‘TH1RT3EN’ is scheduled to reach stores on CD, digital, and vinyl on November 1.

TH1RT3EN Track Listing
1. Sudden Death
2. Public Enemy No. 1
3. Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
4. We the People
5. Guns, Drugs & Money
6. Never Dead
7. New World Order
8. Fast Lane
9. Black Swan
10. Wrecker
11. Millennium of the Blind
12. Deadly Nightshade
13. 13