Realignment has changed the face of the NFL over the last 40 years. Seattle is, for now, the only team to ever join the same division twice.

When the NFL added Tampa Bay and Seattle in 1976 after a four-year expansion plan,  the Buccaneers were in the AFC West, and Seattle in the NFC West. Back then the division looked very different than it does now. These were the NFC West standings from the 1976 season:

1) Los Angeles Rams  11-2-1 (tie with Vikings)

2) San Francisco 49ers 8-6

3) Atlanta Falcons 4-10

4) New Orleans Saints 4-10

5) Seattle Seahawks 2-12

The following season, Seattle was re-assigned to the AFC West, where they finished 5-9, ahead of Kansas City. Tampa Bay was sent to the NFC Central, along with the Packers, Vikings, Bears, and Lions -- an unlikely grouping. The Bucs didn't like having to travel to the cold confines of Detroit, Lambeau or Soldier Field, and for years many believed it hurt them in divisional games.

Due to relocations, the Rams moving to St. Louis after the Cardinals went to Arizona, and with addition of the Jacksonville Jaguars and Carolina Panthers, we are where we are today. In 2002, Seattle was moved back to the NFC West, where they have been since.  The Falcons and Saints have long since moved, to the NFC South with Carolina and Tampa Bay.

They are the only team to switch conferences twice as well, going from NFC to AFC, back to NFC. And all without moving an inch from their base in Seattle.